Para español, seleccione de la lista

Contact: Mark Ard
[email protected]

Florida Secretary of State Laurel M. Lee Announces New Website Celebrating the 100th Anniversary of Women’s Suffrage

Tallahassee, Fla. –

Secretary of State Laurel M. Lee today announces the launch of a new website to commemorate and celebrate the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage on August 26, the date that the 19th Amendment officially became part of the U.S. Constitution. The website includes history about the struggle for suffrage, profiles of some of the Floridians who engaged in the fight, information about upcoming related events and exhibits, and additional resources for further study.



“With the adoption of the 19th Amendment, women were finally afforded the right to vote after more than 70 years of struggle.  The perseverance of the suffragists is inspiring and we must never take the right to vote for granted,” said Secretary Lee. “I invite everyone to explore the website to learn more about this important milestone in American history.”



Included on the website is a video in which Secretary Lee provides an historical overview of the suffrage movement in Florida. The website will be updated periodically to include information about additional exhibits and events that relate to women’s suffrage and women’s history. The website content was generated and designed by staff from many areas of the Department, including the Division of Historical Resources, the Office of External Affairs, and the Division of Library and Information Services.



# # #


About the Florida Department of State
When the 1838 Constitution created the office of the Secretary of State, the Secretary was the keeper of the Great Seal and the custodian of the Laws of Florida. Since that time, the Secretary’s duties have multiplied and expanded. Today, the Secretary of State is Florida’s Chief of Elections, Chief Cultural Officer and the head of the Department of State. The Department consists of Office of the Secretary and the Divisions of Administrative Services, Corporations, Cultural Affairs, Elections, Historical Resources, and Library and Information Services.