Para español, seleccione de la lista

Contact: Meredith Beatrice,

Florida Artists Hall of Fame Inducts Romero Britto and Jane Davis Doggett

Tallahassee –

Secretary of State Ken Detzner is pleased to announce the selection of visual artist Romero Britto, and artist and environmental graphic designer Jane Davis Doggett, for induction into the Florida Artists Hall of Fame. The artists will be inducted in a ceremony to be held on February 2, 2016 at the annual Convening Culture Conference in Fort Lauderdale.

Induction into the Florida Artists Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon artists by the State of Florida,” said Secretary Detzner. “Romero Britto and Jane Davis Doggett have brought tremendous distinction to our state through their careers and tireless devotion to their crafts. Their work has touched and inspired countless people, and it is fitting that we honor them for their influence and brilliance.”

Romero Britto: Visual Artist, Miami (1963 )

Emigrating from Brazil some thirty years ago, Romero Britto has established himself as one of the leading artists of the international Pop Art movement. Some of his achievements include a welcome sculpture to greet guests at Miami City Hall; being chosen alongside Keith Haring, Andy Warhol and Ed Ruscha for Absolut Vodka’s largest art campaign in history; representing the United States along with fellow Florida Artists Hall of Fame member Robert Rauschenberg to paint the longest painting in the world, commissions from the Walt Disney Company, the Coca-Cola Company, and Miami Dolphins owner Stephen Ross, for whom Britto designed the iconic helices surrounding Land Shark Stadium. Britto has exhibited internationally and his works are in the permanent collection of the White House National Archives. Britto also exhibits at his own gallery on Lincoln Road in Miami.

Jane Davis Doggett: Artist and Environmental Graphic Designer, Jupiter Island (1929 —)

Jane Davis Doggett studied at the Yale School of Art and Architecture during its modernist heyday, and has since become one of America’s leading graphic designers. Her work includes thematic graphics and wayfinding systems seen by 20 million airport passengers per year at 40 international airports, including Tampa International Airport and Miami International Airport. Doggett pioneered the use of color-coding and letters to identify and index airport terminals, creating iconic graphics for both interior and exterior signage. She has been honored for her design with multiple awards, including the American Institute of Architects' National Award of Merit, Progressive Architecture Design Award, American Iron and Steel Institute's Design in Steel Citation, and two Design Awards co-sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation and the National Endowment for the Arts.



About the Florida Artists Hall of Fame

Established by the Florida Legislature in 1986, the Florida Artists Hall of Fame recognizes persons, living or deceased, who have made significant contributions to the arts in Florida either as performing or practicing artists in their disciplines. These individuals contribute to Florida's national and international reputation as a state with a sustained commitment to the development of cultural excellence. The Florida Artists Hall of Fame currently consists of more than 50 inductees, including musician and performer Ray Charles, actor and director Burt Reynolds, writers Zora Neale Hurston, Tennessee Williams and Ernest Hemingway, filmmaker Victor Nunez, and visual artists Duane Hanson, Robert Rauschenberg and James Rosenquist.

For more information about the Florida Artists Hall of Fame, visit

About the Division of Cultural Affairs
The Florida Department of State’s Division of Cultural Affairs is Florida’s legislatively designated state arts agency. The Division promotes the arts and culture as essential to quality of life for all Floridians. To achieve its mission, the Division funds and supports cultural programs that provide artistic excellence, diversity, education, access and economic vitality for Florida’s communities. For more information, visit