Para español, seleccione de la lista

Contact: Meredith Beatrice,

MEDIA ADVISORY: Romero Britto and Jane Davis Doggett Inducted into Florida Artists Hall of Fame

Fort Lauderdale –

Today beginning at 6:30 p.m., Secretary of State Ken Detzner and members of the Florida Council on Arts will hold a ceremony inducting artists Romero Britto of Miami and Jane Davis Doggett of Jupiter Island into the Florida Artists Hall of Fame. The ceremony will take place as part of the annual Convening Culture Conference held at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts.

Romero Britto has established himself as one of the leading artists of the international Pop Art movement and his works are exhibited in the permanent collection of the White House National Archives. Britto also exhibits at his own gallery on Lincoln Road in Miami. Jane Davis Doggett is one of America’s leading graphic designers. Doggett has created thematic graphics and wayfinding systems seen by 20 million airport passengers per year at 40 international airports, pioneering the use of color-coding and letters to identify and index airport terminals.


            DATE:                      Tuesday, February 2, 2016

            TIME:                      6:30 p.m. – 7 p.m.

            LOCATION:              Broward Center for the Performing Arts

                                           201 Southwest 5th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale

            AGENDA:                 6:30 p.m. Florida Artists Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony




About the Division of Cultural Affairs
The Florida Department of State’s Division of Cultural Affairs is Florida’s legislatively designated state arts agency. The Division promotes the arts and culture as essential to quality of life for all Floridians. To achieve its mission, the Division funds and supports cultural programs that provide artistic excellence, diversity, education, access and economic vitality for Florida’s communities. For more information, visit