Para español, seleccione de la lista

State Historical Marker Council

Florida Historical Marker Council Member Information

The purpose of the State Historical Marker Council is to provide assistance, advice, and recommendations to the Division of Historical Resources by evaluating proposals for official Florida Historical Markers and identifying goals for the State Historical Marker Program. Statutory authority: Section 267.0743, Florida Statutes.

Mr. Mark Tarmey
Tallahassee, Florida

Term: September 1, 2022 to August 30, 2024

Mark A.Tarmey AIA| NCARB is Managing Principal of 4M Design Group Architects in Tallahassee, FL. The firm practices Architecture with an emphasis on Historic Preservation and Urban Design. Mr. Tarmey Is a Graduate of the University of Florida prestigious Historic Preservation program and a long time Trustee of the Florida Trust for Historic Preservation where he has served as Treasurer and President.

Dr. Jamin Wells

Pensacola, Florida

Term: September 1, 2022 to August 30, 2024

Dr. Jamin Wells is an Associate Professor of History and the Director of the Public History Graduate Program at the University of West Florida in Pensacola, Florida. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of Delaware, specializing in nineteenth-century American cultural and environmental history. His current research and public history projects focus on the intersection of history, memory, and community identity in the American South.

Dr. Antoinette Jackson
Tampa, Florida

Term: September 1, 2022 to August 30, 2024

Dr. Antoinette Jackson is Professor and Chair in the department of Anthropology at the University of South Florida (USF) in Tampa. She earned a Ph.D. in Anthropology from the University of Florida, a MBA from Xavier University in Cincinnati, and a B.A. in Computer and Information Science from Ohio State University. Dr. Jackson completed a 4-year federal appointment as the Regional Cultural Anthropologist for the U.S. National Park Service Southeast Region in May 2016.